The Steering Committee operates under a values-based collaborative Charter and advises on the strategic direction and financial management of the NRSP.


graeme smallMr Graeme Hunt
Graeme Hunt was most recently Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Broadspectrum and has chaired the NRSP since its launch in April 2014.

Graeme has almost 40 years’ experience in the metals, mining and bulk transport sectors, including years with BHP Billiton where he held positions including President Iron Ore, President Aluminum and President Uranium. He was also Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Lihir Gold Ltd.

He has been President of the Australian Uranium Association, The Australian Mining and Metals Association and the International Manganese Institute. He has served as Deputy Chair of the Minerals Council of Australia and as a director of the International Aluminium Institute and the World Energy Council Australia.

Graeme is currently a Director of AGL Energy Ltd and is also Chair of the Western Australian Energy Research Alliance (WA:ERA).

Committee members

Dr Larry Marshall
Chief Executive Officer, CSIRO

Professor Deborah Terry AO
Vice-Chancellor, Curtin University

Professor Dawn Freshwater
Vice-Chancellor, The University of Western Australia

Dr Peter Mayfield
Executive Director, Environment, Energy and Resources, CSIRO

Professor Chris Moran
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Development, Curtin University

Professor Robyn Owens
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, The University of Western Australia

Dr James Johnson
Chief Executive Officer, Geoscience Australia

David Smith
Director General,  Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety

Professor Peter Klinken
Chief Scientist of Western Australia, Office of Science, Department of Premier and Cabinet

Kym Bills (ex officio)
Director, NRSP and CEO, WA:ERA